He was born in New York City. Married Anita Melnick, 1949 (divorced), 3 children (Ted, Mark, Richard); married Mary Vann Finley, 1973 (divorced), 1 stepdaughter (Amanda); married Dragica Dimitrijevic, 1997.

During World War II he served in the US Navy, and then took a university degree, graduating Phi Beta Kappa. A few months of teaching in high school were followed by a job in a literary agency in New York. He describes himself at this time as "fiercely ambitious", doing a full day’s work in the agency and spending all his nights and weekends writing. His first success, published under the name Evan Hunter, was THE BLACKBOARD JUNGLE (1954) — a tough novel of New York life, about an idealistic teacher in a slum high school. It was later made into a film with Glenn Ford and Sidney Poitier.

Since then he has written more than eighty novels, writing under several names, but most famously as Evan Hunter and Ed McBain. He has also written many screenplays, including the one for Hitchcock’s film THE BIRDS. As Ed McBain, he is the author of the 87th Precinct novels, the longest, the most varied, and possibly the most popular crime series in the world. These novels are about a team of policemen, usually including Detective Steve Carella, and are set in an "imaginary city". There are fifty-two 87th Precinct novels to date. The two most recent titles are THE LAST DANCE and MONEY, MONEY, MONEY.

Mystery Writers of America Award, 1957, for short story THE LAST SPIN. Grand Master Award, Mystery Writers of America, 1986, for lifetime achievement. First American to receive the British Crime writer’s Association Cartier Diamond Dagger, 1998. Frankfurt Origial e-Book Award, best fiction, 2002.

Books by Evan Hunter/Ed McBain have been best-sellers in Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Croatia, The Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Italy, Israel, Japan, Korea, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.


By Ed McBain

The 87th Precinct Novels
Cop Hater
The Mugger
The Pusher (1956)
The Con Man
Killer’s Choice (1957)
Killer’s Payoff
Killer’s Wedge
Lady Killer (1958)
‘Til Death
King’s Ransom (1959)
Give the Boys a Great Big Hand
The Heckler
See Them Die (1960)
Lady, Lady, I Did It! (1961)
The Empty Hours
Like Love (1962)
Ten Plus One (1963)
Ax (1964)
He Who Hesitates  Doll (1965)
Eighty Million Eyes (1966)
Fuzz (1968)
Shotgun (1969)
Jigsaw (1970)
Hail, Hail, the Gang’s All Here (1971)
Sadie When She Died
Let’s Hear It for the Deaf Man (1972)
Hail to the Chief (1973)
Bread (1974)
Blood Relatives (1975)
So Long As You Both Shall Live (1976)
Long Time No See (1977)
Calypso (1979)
Ghosts (1980)
Heat (1981)
Ice (1983)
Lightning (1984)
Eight Black Horses (1985)
Poison  Tricks (1987)
Lullaby (1989)
Vespers (1990)
Widows (1991)
Kiss (1992)
Mischief (1993)
And All Through the House (1994)
Romance (1995)
Nocturne (1997)
The Big Bad City (1999)
The Last Dance (2000)
Money, Money, Money (2001)
Fat Ollie's Book (2002)
The Frumious Bandersnatch (2004)
Hark (2004)
Fiddlers (2005)

The Matthew Hope Novels
Goldilocks (1978)
Rumpelstiltskin (1981)
Beauty and the Beast (1982)
Jack and the Beanstalk (1984)
Snow White and Rose Red (1985)
Cinderella (1986) Puss in Boots (1987)
The House that Jack Built (1988)
Three Blind Mice (1990)
Mary, Mary (1993)
There Was a Little Girl (1994)
Gladly the Cross-Eyed Bear (1966)
The Last Best Hope (1998)

Women in Jeopardy 2005
Alice in Jeopardy 2005

Other Novels
The Sentries (1965)
Where There’s Smoke  Doors (1975)
Guns (1976)
Another Part of the City (1986)
Downtown (1991)
Driving Lessons (2000)
Transgressions (2005)
The Gutter and the Grave (2005)

Novels Originally Published under the Pseudonym Richard Marsten
Runaway Black (1954)
Death of a Nurse (1955)
Vanishing Ladies (1957)
Big Man (1959)
Even the Wicked (1958)

By Evan Hunter

The Blackboard Jungle (1954)
Second Ending (1956)
Strangers When We Meet (1958)
A Matter of Conviction (1959)
Mothers and Daughters (1961)
Buddwing (1964)
The Paper Dragon (1966)
A Horse’s Head (1967)
Last Summer (1968)
Sons (1969)
Nobody Knew They Were There (1971)
Every Little Crook and Nanny (1972)
Come Winter (1973)
Streets of Gold (1974)
The Chisholms (1976)
Love, Dad (1981)
Far From the Sea (1983)
Lizzie (1985)
Criminal Conversation (1994)
Privileged Conversation (1996)
Candyland (2001)
The Moment She Was Gone (2002)

Me and Hitch (1997)
Let’s talk (2005)

Short Story Collections
Happy New Year, Herbie (1963)
The Easter Man (1972)
Running from Legs
Barking at Butterflies (2000)
Learning to kill (2005)

Children’s Books
Find the Feathered Serpent (1952)
The Remarkable Harry (1959)
The Wonderful Button (1961)
Me and Mr. Stenner (1976)

Strangers When We Meet (1959)
The Birds (1962)
Fuzz (1972)
Walk Proud (1979)

The Chisholms (1979)
The Legend of Walks Far Woman (1980)
Dream West (1986)

The Easter Man (1964)
Curtain (1969)

  Evan Hunter